Award for Excellence in Liturgical Reading of the Scriptures

Every year, MBS partners with schools within the Boston Theological Interreligious Consortium and others that host a scripture reading contest for demonstrating outstanding ability in the reading of Scripture in a pubic setting. We present an Award for Excellence in the Liturgical Reading of Scripture to winners, and they receive a personalized Bible of their choice.

This year, we are pleased to present the Award for Excellence in the Liturgical Reading of Scripture to Grateful Ojurereoluwa Itiowe from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. Grateful is the founder of the Great Innovators Foundation for Transformation (GIFT), a growing empowerment project that sets up small-scale businesses for needy widows in Nigeria. She serves as a Leader with The Old Path Revival Commission, and the Lausanne Movement for Nigeria Younger Leaders. She is a Lawyer, as well as a Lecturer/Faculty with the University of Nigeria. She holds an MBA in Law and Management from Wales, UK, and is currently completing her studies with Gordon Conwell for a Master of Arts in Global Leadership. 

Watch her sermons on the Gordon-Conwell Facebook site:

Congratulations and best wishes, Grateful!



2021 Winner:

  • Jasmine (Jaz) Buchanan, Harvard Divinity School    

2017 Winners:

  • Ylisse Bliss, Boston University School of Theology
  • Denson Staples, Harvard Divinity School
  • Temjinnaro Pongen, Episcopal Divinity School
  • Taylor Graffum, Gordon College
  • Sulmane Maigadi, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
  • Patrick Jackson, Andover Newton Theological School
  • Benjamin Labadie, Boston College School of Theology and Ministry






Massachusetts Bible Society Logo

Exploring the Bible Logo